A Chance Meeting


Dear Friends,

This morning my friend introduced me to a Buddhist monk. It was quite a special honor to get to meet him, let alone spend a good deal of time with him chatting one on one, of course with my friend Koi to translate for me :).

I met him, made the appropriate introduction and sat before him. Never have I met someone who could stare so perfectly into what I swear was the very center of my soul. The typical wall I manage to build up in front of me was no where to be found… It was quite possibly the most surreal experience I have ever had.

We spoke, laughed and traded looks of solemn understanding. When he left he tied a good luck bracelet on my wrist and wished me well.

He was young, not much older or younger than I and yet perfectly at peace… Calm as I have ever seen and for those few minutes I felt as calm alongside him. We spoke about my life, who I am and what will be. I was a brief encounter and yet somehow felt like meeting an old friend after a long time apart.

It was…a chance meeting I shall not soon forget.

Ben

3 Responses to “A Chance Meeting”

  1. So… What will be?

  2. Very cool! Hope it helps you chip away at that wall a little more each day 🙂 May you too find that kind of peace Mr. Sutch!

Leave a comment